Soul Blues Charts
Southern Soul Radio
Soul Blues Artists
Blues Critic Awards
Contact Us


Poonanny  BUY CDS

Self described "Blues Comedian" Joe Poonanny was at first a drummer and club manager before getting on stage and doing his act comprised of humorous songs and monologue. Born in Birmingham, Alabama, Poonanny didn't release any music until signing with Malaco subsidiary Waldoxy Records in 1993. His first LP, "Poonanny Be Still" featured mostly song parodies of chitlin' circuit favorites like Bobby Rush's "Be Still", Tyrone Davis' "Mom's Apple Pie" (re-titled "Mamma Tell A Lie"). The formula worked and four more LPs on Poonanny were released by waldoxy before Poonanny went independent with his own venture in 2007.

Album Discography

"Poonanny Be Still" (Waldoxy 1993)

1. Clean Out Your Dresser
2. Poonanny Be Still
3. Steppin' Out
4. I Can Do Bad by Myself
5. Strokin'
6. Let's Straighten It Out
7. Mamma Tell a Lie (A.K.A. Mom's Apple Pie)
8. Poonanny Be Still - (radio version)

"The Grindin' Man" (Waldoxy 1994)

1. Meatman
2. 3 People Sleepin' in My Bed
3. Out Grindin' the Grindin' Man
4. Beat Your Meat
5. Eatin' Me Out of House and Home
6. Get It Up
7. I Ain't Beggin', I'm Buyin'
8. Trashy Women
9. Poonanny (A.K.A. I'm a Blues Man)
10. Rump Ringer

"Ponyrider" (Waldoxy 1996)

1. Pony Rider
2. Too Late, I'm Gone - (featuring Bobby Rush)
3. Gatherin' Nuts
4. Bill Stopper
5. Swim Ned Swim
6. Turn Loose My Ears
7. Married Men
8. Packin' Heavy
9. Cheatin' in the Next Room
10. He Stopped Loving Her Today

"Brand New Cadillac" (Waldoxy 1998)

1. Puddin' N' Tang
2. Brand New Cadillac
3. Let It Roll
4. Last Three Dollars
5. My Ding-A-Ling
6. Shake Your Fanny
7. Dirty Rat
8. This Is Not the Blues
9. That Girl Is Bad

"That Baby Ain't Black Enough" (Waldoxy 2001)

1. Hole in Your Drawers
2. Hair on Her Legs (That Long)
3. That Baby Ain't Black Enough
4. My Baby's Gone
5. Drowning Man
6. Big Head Money
7. Don't Pour Me Another Cup
8. Diet Soda Blues
9. Don't Make Love to Him

"Signifying Monkey" (Sh*t Talking 2007) LISTEN

1. Intro
2. Mississippi Shuffle
3. Lap Dance
4. To Understand a Woman
5. Cable Man
6. Skin a Cat
7. King Size Bed
8. Signifying Monkey
9. Grand Son
10. Some Jaws
11. She's Too Young for You
12. Mountain Climber, The
13. Smart Doctor, The
14. Is It Like I Left It
15. Nymphomaniac
16. Lightning Bugs
17. Cheap Wine
18. Reverend from Up North
19. Peepin in the Window


Home CD STORE Soul Blues Charts Southern Soul Radio Soul Blues Artists Blues Critic Awards Contact Us