Mr. X

Artist CDs
Essential 100
Top 50 Albums
Contact Us


O.B. Bryant

Mr. Obie Bryant was born December 11, 1936 in Vienna Georgia. He started singing in the church at the age of five. After high school he joined the United States Navy. He then moved to Atlanta, Georgia where he joined a band called "The Thriller". Obie then started his career with the United States Post Office where he retired. In 1999 he recorded his first album "Where Did You Get That Thing?". Much better was his second outing, "Blues Party", which featured two moderate hits: "Blues Party In The Park" and "Steppin' On Roaches. Bryant possessed a thick baritone reminiscent of Ronnie Lovejoy

He  performed in Blues Festivals all over the Southeast, and on stages with singers such as: Joe Simon, Marvin Sease, Mel Waiters, Clarence Carter, Sir Charles Jones, Shirley Brown, Denise LaSalle and many others. Later in his career he self released a couple low profile albums, "Thank You" and "Hula Hoop". Bryant died in 2017.

Album Discography

"Where Did You Get Thing?" (Million Dollar Rec 1999)

1 Where Did You Get That Thang
2 Take That Bitter With The Sweet
3 Cat's Corner (Part 1)
4 Take Your Love To A Higher Level
5 Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is
6 Stop Blaming It On The Blues
7 Come And Get Some Nuts
8 Love And War (Part 1)
9 Cat's Corner (Part 2)
10 Love And War (Part 2)

"Blues Party" (Goodtime 2002)

1 Blues Party In The Park
2 Life Ain't Easy
3 Where Do I Go From Here
4 A Man Gotta Do
5 Steppin' On Roaches
6 Slow Roll Me
7 It Ain't Rainin' On Nobody's Home But Mine
8 Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is
9 Midnight To Daylight
10 Good Lovin' Mama

"Thank You" (OB Bryant 2009)

1. Thank You
2. The Morning Train
3. Beach Party
4. Sugar & Spice 1
5. Sugar & Spice 2
6. Put Your Money
7. Blues Party
8. Stepping on Roaches
9. SuperMan Lover
10. Baby Come Back
11. Shake it Off
12. Bitter with the Sweet
13. The Devil

"Hula Hoop" (OB Bryant 2012)

1. The Hula Hoop Song
2. The Hula Hoop Rap
3. Baby Come Back
4. Beach Party
5. Bitter With the Sweet
6. Sugar and Spice
7. Super Man Lover
8. The Letter
9. Thank You
10. Your Money

Home CD STORE Artist CDs Discography Charts Essential 100 Top 50 Albums Contact Us