Vickie Baker

Artist CDs
Essential 100
Top 50 Albums
Contact Us


Vickie Baker grew up in a musical family, traveling and singing gospel with her father, the late Mr. L.B. Baker Sr. Vickieís mother, Mrs. Lessie Baker, insisted that she take private music lessons. She participated in the North Caddo High School Band as baritone section leader and drum majorette. She continued to pursue a career in music, receiving a scholarship in music to Mississippi Valley State University and graduated with a Bachelor of Music Education. She furthered her career at the University of Mississippi and received a Masters of Music Education degree. She is currently a Band and Choral Music director at Vicksburg Catholic School in Vicksburg, Mississippi. Vickie is a member of Tau Beta Sigma Honorary Band Sorority, and Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

In the late 80ís, Vickie organized and sang lead vocals for Champagne + II, and the Rhythm Warehouse. These groups opened for numerous blues artists such as: B.B. King, Al Green, Hal Melvin and the Blue Notes, and Bobby Blue Bland, just to name a few. In the early 90ís, Vickie began singing background vocals for Ernie Johnson and Willie Clayton.

Her first LP, Don't Gimmie No Lip, was distributed by Paula in 1997 and since then a new album pops up every 3 or 4 years. The most recent in 2007.

Album Discography

 "Don't Gimmie No Lip" (Paula 1997)

1. Don't Gimme No Lip
2. We Almost Had A Good Thang
3. Freak On The Side
4. She's A Lady Of Love
5. Nothing Takes The Place Of You
6. Price For Real Love
7. Why My Baby Left
8. Running Behind Time
9. You Shoulda Got It While The Gittin' Was Good
10. Don't Gimme No Lip (Radio Mix)
11. She's A Lady Of Love (Radio Mix)

"Good Loving" (So Fly 2000)

1 Ain't Crying No More
2 One Good Man Too Late
3 Straighten Your Life Out
4 Do Me (Radio Mix)
5 Stealing Somebody's Man (Radio Mix)
6 A Little Time
7 Good Loving
8 Southern Stroll
9 Stealing Somebody's Man (Club Mix)
10 Do Me (Club Mix)

"Love Strike" (So Fly 2003)

1 Love Strike
2 Party Tonight
3 Loving on Borrowed Time
4 Candy Cane Licker
5 Don't Leave Your Wife
6 Come to Mama
7 Tonight's the Night
8 Fast Half Loving
9 I Appreciate You
10 Party Tonight (Rmx)

Vickie Baker "I Could Show You" (FaLife Prod 2007)

1. Intro
2. Right Thang Wrong Man
3. I Could Show You
4. Big Feet
5. Tussy Roll
6. He Say She Say
7. Get Me Weak
8. Till the Morning Light
9. Straight Talkin
10. Right Thang Wrong Man (Radio Version)

*** The last time I heard from Ms. Baker was exactly ten years ago on her Paula-distributed "Don't Gimme No Lip" . In 2007 she still has that sweet Southern Soul voice. "I Could Show You" is mostly that trusty Chitlin' Circuit-style of "Soul/Blues" we all love with one crossover attempt with the Urban Adult Contemporary ("Right Place, Wrong Time"). That concession is actually the least interesting track compared to witty cuts like the title cut. Here Baker reproves a lazy woman not taken care of her man. "He goes to work to provide for you/Cooking and cleaning is the least you can do/You lay on the couch all day long/He orders a pizza when he gets home/Now that you married him you done let yourself go/And you wonder why he don't take you nowhere no more/I ain't trying to run your business/I just want you to see you're gonna run him to a woman like me!/I could show you what to do if I had a good man like you". This fills in the void we've had since Peggy Scott-Adams is taking a break.

Now Sheba Potts-Wright sang about the "big hand man" but Vickie's singing about "Big Feet". How's that for pressure, fellas? "Step right up and let me see your shoes/'Cuz you just might have the size I'd like to use". Now we brothas gotta wear padded shoes. Does Victoria make a "Miracle Shoe"? The gal lets the funk flow on "Tussy Roll", shuffle bumps like Denise (LaSalle) on "Get Me Weak" talks bullshhh or perhaps "the truth" on "Straight Talkin'", ala Millie Jackson, but then gets all soft on the gorgeous slowie "He Say She Say" where she vows "to stand by my man".

"Talkin' In Your Sleep" (1Stop Graphics 2022)

1 Talk in Your Sleep (Radio)
2 What I Want
3 Drop Off
4 Saddle Up
5 Don't Give Me No Lip
6 Honey Hole
7 Southern Girl (feat. Luster Baker)
8 Talk in Your Sleep


Home CD STORE Artist CDs Discography Charts Essential 100 Top 50 Albums Contact Us